NASA Did Not Just Change Your Zodiac Sign, The Earth Did

Nasa starsigns

There’s trouble afoot in the world of make-believe.

PAstrologers were left up in arms over the weekend after Cosmopolitan reported that NASA would be changing the zodiac signs, leaving countless people directionless in their lives.

“NASA has decided to update the astrological signs for the first time in 2,000 years, meaning that a whopping 86% of us now have a different sign,”

the magazine claimed.

“If you want to get all technical about it, the reason for this radical change is down to the fact that the sky today is extremely different to how it was thousands of years ago, which makes sense.”

Well, we’ve got bad news (or good, depending on how you look at it).

NASA has not changed the signs of the zodiac.

Also, the scientific agency has not decided to shift its focus from factual research to studying Harry Potter.

Mars, Earth, Space

The misunderstanding seems to have come from a NASA Space Place page for kids, written back in January this year.

The writer for Cosmopolitan has taken information from this page and used it to make their rather bold claim.

Now, on this page NASA has delved into some actual science.

They explain how the signs of the zodiac were first derived by the Babylonians 3,000 years ago by drawing an imaginary line between Earth and the Sun.

Extending this line into space, the Sun seems to pass through various constellations made up of stars hundreds to thousands of light-years away.

They picked 12 constellations, but there were actually 13 constellations in the zodiac, so the Babylonians left one out, Ophiuchus.

What’s more, Earth’s axis has shifted in the last 3,000 years, so the sky doesn’t look the same.

So, NASA explains, the signs of the zodiac don’t really fit with what we use today.

Someone born into Leo, for example, would actually be Cancer nowadays.

This has actually come up before, as Snopes explains.

Based on the new positioning in the sky, the zodiac would go as follows:

Capricorn: Jan 20 – Feb 16

Aquarius: Feb 16 – March 11

Pisces: March 11 – April 18

Aries: April 18 – May 13

Taurus: May 13 – June 21

Gemini: June 21 – July 20

Cancer: July 20 – Aug 10

Leo: Aug 10 – Sept 16

Virgo: Sept 16 – Oct 30

Libra: Oct 30 – Nov 23

Scorpio: Nov 23 – Nov 29

Ophiuchus: Nov 29 – Dec 17

Sagittarius: Dec 17 – Jan 20

zodiac signs

Of course, this is all just a scientific explanation for the zodiac, not a validation of horoscopes.

“NASA studies astronomy not astrology,”

NASA spokesperson Dwayne Brown told Gizmodo.

“We didn’t change any zodiac signs, we just did the math.”

So, your sign hasn’t changed. But even it did, well, horoscopes are about as real as Bigfoot.

Aside from the Sun, no star is close enough to our Solar System to have a meaningful effect on our lives, let alone dictate your personality.

Rest assured, if you want to be an Aquarius, you can still be an Aquarius.

You can be whatever you want to be.

How about a sentient collection of trillions of cells in a vast and wonderful universe?

That’s a lot more impressive to us.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s